Is Loving Classical Music as a High-Schooler Weird?

As an Asian student, it is normal for us to go home after school with a lot of home works and advanced studies so that I can keep up with my classmates. Although studying is boring for me, I always try to make it enjoyable. Since then, I found that leaving some classical pieces of music in the background, like Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Strauss, and Beethoven, just to name a few, is actually soothing. The tone and elegance of the compositions keep me focused and concentrated on my studies. However, I might have become too addicted because I listen to these compositions every day and everywhen to the point my friends started to get annoyed. Naturally, since we are friends, they made fun of me, but I am sure they were just doing it to annoy me. I paid no heed to it. Although, the longer I thought about it, the more I realized that I am the only one who listens to this type of music.

This is not a big problem by all accounts, but it is just interesting that back in probably the 18th or 19th century. These kinds of music were loved, especially the upper-class ones who waltz with their partners or spouses. Now, from what I am seeing, these types of music are mostly loved by the older generation. Although, I might be wrong since I am in an Asian country, not in Europe, where the only popular music here is those damn love songs. I do not understand why love songs are so dominant, like I get it; they are catchy and all, but is everyone always feeling love or something? I am so confused, lol. Nonetheless, I hope to find someone with the same interest as me someday, older or the same generation as I; it doesn’t matter. I just love talking to people, especially if we have the same interest.

Author: Rein Hernandez

Greetings! I am an average high school student who has, for some reason, taken an interest in blogging, literature, and the whole world in general. I am a tremendously ambitious person and hunger for knowledge; I plan to travel the world, learn new things and collect memories as I go through my journey. However, I am a little stuck since I am still at school. Nonetheless, I got to start somewhere, so I think blogging about my life is a good beginning—this blog is where I share those experiences, struggles, and achievements. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started